Results - New South Wales
05 July 2016

NSW 'A' CLASS GP 3 - 25th June

The forecast for a cold and blustery day proved correct as the 8 competitors were greeted by a W/SW wind blowing down from the tablelands. This wind direction on the WMYC Dunmore Lakes pond is ideal for providing a very fair wind for all sailors, and the starting line is close to the bank and easily sighted.


The fleet consisted of 5 Gunboats, 1 Privateer, 1 Venom, and 1 Sword. All boats were set up initially with A rigs but as the wind strength gradually increased to about 12knots with gusts to about 20 knots, most of the Gunboats replaced these with B rigs except Selwyn who was using an A2 rig.

The Sword and the Privateer were able to carry their A rigs all day. Brian found the conditions suited his Sword, scoring 8 wins and 2 seconds in the 10 races up to lunch. There was very close racing throughout the fleet with only a few points separating the competitors. During the lunch break the wind eased slightly, and moved further to the South. Luckily, the permanent buoys proved to be in good position meaning we could leave the dinghy ashore as no-one was particularly keen to go in the water, except Ralph H. who wore shorts and had his usual bare feet while the rest of us had coats and waders on all day!!!


The wind continued to ease as the afternoon wore on, and began to peter out as racing was concluded. This provided the conditions that the Gunboats and the Venom enjoy more, as can be seen by the race results after lunch. Jon, Selwyn, Ralph, Gary and Brian D all had good wins and top 3 positions throughout the day, with Allan, Ralf S and Brian J having many great battles and having the speed to keep the others skippers on their toes.


Our Race Officer and Club President Dennis Yarrow is held in high regard and his efforts during the day once again showed why this is so. He was able to conduct 19 races in a way which was relaxed and allowed for breaks every few races, but still kept the event moving at a good pace. Thanks to Laurie for assisting and videoing some races, one of which can be found on YouTube. Lunch was very enjoyable; thanks Al and others for your efforts. Overall, a great day of racing on one of the few days recently when there has been any wind.


1 Brian Dill
2 Selwyn Holland
3 Ralph Hyman
4 Gary Bromley
5 Jon Pinkerton
6 Allan Thompson
7 Ralf Steyer
8 Brian Jackson


NSW Events Calendar

2016 NSW Calendar - PDF

Latest Rankings

Updated 19 Sep - 10R

(Hint: Ctrl+F5 to refresh)

A Class
Ten Rater

Upcoming Events

SA RM State Championships
Sat Sep 23, 2017 - Sat Sep 23, 2017
Sun Sep 24, 2017 - Sun Sep 24, 2017
SA RM Bournville Cup
Sun Sep 24, 2017 - Sun Sep 24, 2017
SA 10R State Championships
Sun Oct 01, 2017 - Sun Oct 01, 2017
NSW 10R GP Rd 5 Ben Lexcen Trophy
Sat Oct 07, 2017 - Sat Oct 07, 2017
VIC RC Laser State Championship
Sat Oct 07, 2017 - Sat Oct 07, 2017
WA Ray Tilbrook 10R Memorial Trophy
Sat Oct 07, 2017 - Sat Oct 07, 2017
TAS IOM Tasmanian Regatta
Sun Oct 08, 2017 - Sun Oct 08, 2017
NSW A Class State Titles
Sat Oct 14, 2017 - Sun Oct 15, 2017
QLD Laser State Championships
Sat Oct 14, 2017 - Sun Oct 15, 2017
VIC RM Regional Championship ®
Sun Oct 15, 2017 - Sun Oct 15, 2017
NSW Marblehead State Titles
Sat Oct 21, 2017 - Sun Oct 22, 2017
QLD Lakeside RM Challenge
Sat Oct 21, 2017 - Sun Oct 22, 2017

National Champions

A ClassGlenn Dawson

10RScot Condie

RM Lincoln McDowell

IOM Ian Vickers

RC Laser:  Kirwan Robb

Past National Champions

Past National Champions: Click here

Copyright & Disclaimer

The contents of this site, unless otherwise noted, are the copyright © of ARYA and material may not be copied, reproduced, republished, downloaded, posted, broadcast or transmitted in any way except for personal, non commercial use.  Any other use requires the prior written permission of ARYA and acknowledgement of the source.  All trademarks referred to are the property of their respective owners.

Copyright & Disclaimer