Results - New South Wales
29 October 2016

NSW RM State Championship - 22/23rd October

UPDATE: Eight skippers arrived bright and early on Saturday Morning to race for the top honours in NSW Marblehead racing. Greg Torpy came all the way from Brisbane though he is a member of Lake Macquarie Radio Yacht Club. The rest of the fleet was made up this way, two from Drummoyne Sailing Club, two from Wollongong Model Yacht Club, two from the Northern Mariners and one from Kogarah Bay Radio Yacht Club.


There was a steady southerly breeze about 12 knots when racing started just after 10am that steadily increased in strength during the day. A two lap windward return course was set. It wasn’t long before skippers were asking for time to change rigs, and many ended up using their smallest rigs after lunch.

Greg Torpy won three of the first four races while Scott Condie was sorting out some electrical gremlins in his borrowed Starkers. Once Scott got the boat going he, Greg and Phil Page battled for the top three places for the rest of the day. The breeze was strong enough so the other competitors had problems and they all missed races. On Saturday sixteen races were completed.

On Sunday morning six skippers returned to find the wind was blowing thirty knots plus at start time. Racing was postponed for an hour to see if the wind would abate, which it did a little so racing started after the skippers were asked if they wanted to sail in the conditions. All wanted to give it a go. But then the wind started to increase again and racing was called off after the fourth race of the day. While it lasted the racing was spectacular, but a boat was damaged in a collision and I deemed it too dangerous to continue. Twenty races were completed for the regatta.

The results were tied for first place so I must thank Sean Wallis and Glen Dawson for their help to resolve who was first and who was second. The ARYA Sailing Instructions tells us that in the case of single fleet regattas, scoring is in accordance with RRS Appendix A – not HMS. Ties are broken as per the method in Appendix A 8.1 and 8.2. If a tie remains they are ranked in order of their scores in the last race which Scott won and unfortunately Greg failed to finish.

So, congratulations Scott and commiserations Greg.

Many thanks to KBRYC members Ted Gay for helping with the scoring on both days and for Peter Newman and Allen Roberts for driving the rescue boat. Thanks to John Lewis from KBSC for providing the lunches.

Owen Jarvis


NSW Events Calendar

2016 NSW Calendar - PDF

Latest Rankings

Updated 19 Sep - 10R

(Hint: Ctrl+F5 to refresh)

A Class
Ten Rater

Upcoming Events

SA RM State Championships
Sat Sep 23, 2017 - Sat Sep 23, 2017
Sun Sep 24, 2017 - Sun Sep 24, 2017
SA RM Bournville Cup
Sun Sep 24, 2017 - Sun Sep 24, 2017
SA 10R State Championships
Sun Oct 01, 2017 - Sun Oct 01, 2017
NSW 10R GP Rd 5 Ben Lexcen Trophy
Sat Oct 07, 2017 - Sat Oct 07, 2017
VIC RC Laser State Championship
Sat Oct 07, 2017 - Sat Oct 07, 2017
WA Ray Tilbrook 10R Memorial Trophy
Sat Oct 07, 2017 - Sat Oct 07, 2017
TAS IOM Tasmanian Regatta
Sun Oct 08, 2017 - Sun Oct 08, 2017
NSW A Class State Titles
Sat Oct 14, 2017 - Sun Oct 15, 2017
QLD Laser State Championships
Sat Oct 14, 2017 - Sun Oct 15, 2017
VIC RM Regional Championship ®
Sun Oct 15, 2017 - Sun Oct 15, 2017
NSW Marblehead State Titles
Sat Oct 21, 2017 - Sun Oct 22, 2017
QLD Lakeside RM Challenge
Sat Oct 21, 2017 - Sun Oct 22, 2017

National Champions

A ClassGlenn Dawson

10RScot Condie

RM Lincoln McDowell

IOM Ian Vickers

RC Laser:  Kirwan Robb

Past National Champions

Past National Champions: Click here

Copyright & Disclaimer

The contents of this site, unless otherwise noted, are the copyright © of ARYA and material may not be copied, reproduced, republished, downloaded, posted, broadcast or transmitted in any way except for personal, non commercial use.  Any other use requires the prior written permission of ARYA and acknowledgement of the source.  All trademarks referred to are the property of their respective owners.

Copyright & Disclaimer