Results - Queensland Results
27 January 2016

BRYC Brisbane IOM Challenge

015As always, the BRYC thanks Riversands for our venue, the BRYC club members who assisted in site preparation and the running the event, Ian Ashe for performing the PRO duties, and the skippers for their patronage.

The Eagleby venue is improving and now boasts toilet facilities and a mown grassed area on the northern shore of the lake incorporating a smaller fenced area in an attempt to keep the resident cattle of it.

There is ample space for parking. Adequate shade was provided, and with predicted temperatures in the low to mid 30’s, it was an absolute necessity.

Conditions on day 1 were trying to say the least.

Flukey, light winds which swung from NW to NE through North over the day made course setting a nightmare for the PRO, Ian Ashe. As a consequence, only 8 races were completed at close of proceedings.

Day 2 was a vast improvement, with a South Easterly coming in early and holding up for the rest of the day, throwing in a few solid gusts towards the close. Not quite B rig, but close.

A total of 24 races were completed, with attrition resulting in the races after lunch being all-in affairs.

General good behaviour by skippers, a willingness to accept penalties, and no protests made for a good contest.

The fleet was a good mix of extensive experience right down to the novice, and I’d like to acknowledge Mike Barton (LCMM) and David Cox (BRYC) for not being put off by the “big boys”, and toughing it out.

As always, consistency is key to success, and it was clear from the outset that Lindsay was going to be the one to beat.

So, it’s congratulations to Lindsay, Garth, and Bill.

Ian Smith

Secretary BRYC

Latest Rankings

Updated 19 Sep - 10R

(Hint: Ctrl+F5 to refresh)

A Class
Ten Rater

Upcoming Events

SA RM State Championships
Sat Sep 23, 2017 - Sat Sep 23, 2017
Sun Sep 24, 2017 - Sun Sep 24, 2017
SA RM Bournville Cup
Sun Sep 24, 2017 - Sun Sep 24, 2017
SA 10R State Championships
Sun Oct 01, 2017 - Sun Oct 01, 2017
NSW 10R GP Rd 5 Ben Lexcen Trophy
Sat Oct 07, 2017 - Sat Oct 07, 2017
VIC RC Laser State Championship
Sat Oct 07, 2017 - Sat Oct 07, 2017
WA Ray Tilbrook 10R Memorial Trophy
Sat Oct 07, 2017 - Sat Oct 07, 2017
TAS IOM Tasmanian Regatta
Sun Oct 08, 2017 - Sun Oct 08, 2017
NSW A Class State Titles
Sat Oct 14, 2017 - Sun Oct 15, 2017
QLD Laser State Championships
Sat Oct 14, 2017 - Sun Oct 15, 2017
VIC RM Regional Championship ®
Sun Oct 15, 2017 - Sun Oct 15, 2017

National Champions

A ClassGlenn Dawson

10RScot Condie

RM Lincoln McDowell

IOM Ian Vickers

RC Laser:  Kirwan Robb

Past National Champions

Past National Champions: Click here

Copyright & Disclaimer

The contents of this site, unless otherwise noted, are the copyright © of ARYA and material may not be copied, reproduced, republished, downloaded, posted, broadcast or transmitted in any way except for personal, non commercial use.  Any other use requires the prior written permission of ARYA and acknowledgement of the source.  All trademarks referred to are the property of their respective owners.

Copyright & Disclaimer