Results - Queensland Results
14 April 2016

QLD Dragon Force Challenge 2016 Round 1

Dragon Force Challenge 2016 Round 1 Report
Since the arrival in 2013 of this affordable, one design restricted class yacht, which easily fits in your car, a number of new and experienced skippers have been attracted to Dragon Force yachts.

In sponsoring the inaugural Challenge, QRYA and Paradise Radio Yacht Club are to be congratulated on proactively fostering this growing interest in RC yacht racing.

Round One of the 2016 inaugural Dragon Force Challenge was raced at Emerald Lakes (Gold Coast) on Sunday April 10th.

Twenty-six skippers from five different clubs raced Dragon Force yachts together for the first time in Queensland. All opted for A sail rigs with only six yachts fitted with original Joysway sails. Yachts were divided into two fleets with skippers sailing a total of eleven races.  

PRO Bill Clancy’s dedicated PRYC team together with David & Val Black (scoring data management) ensured a professionally conducted event, tailored to educate newcomer skippers as the day progressed. According to Bill, the regatta was “competitive and held in good spirit.”

The only reported distraction to skippers being the wafting, hunger inducing, favourable aroma of our bbq lunch being prepared.    

  The balmy day and blue sky backdrop, though picture perfect, provided a variable north easterly breeze up to about 15 km/hr which at times, particularly in the morning, tested and frustrated most skippers.  A particular location on the course provided most of the “spectator entertainment”.

Two skippers earned David Black’s empathy and “Its Moments like these you need Minties” lollies rewards for recording the most changes between A and B fleet.
Our medallion winning top three place getters, from left to right in the image:  In 2nd Place Bruce McLaren (Springfield Lakes Maritime Modellers), in 1st Place Laurie Hinchcliffe (Koonawarra Bay SC  NSW) - and 3rd Place Roger Taylor ( Paradise Radio Yacht Club).

As for the rest of us: A magic day!  Round Two - can’t wait!!
View video and images courtesy of PRYC club members and Maree Sweeney.





Latest Rankings

Updated 19 Sep - 10R

(Hint: Ctrl+F5 to refresh)

A Class
Ten Rater

Upcoming Events

SA RM State Championships
Sat Sep 23, 2017 - Sat Sep 23, 2017
Sun Sep 24, 2017 - Sun Sep 24, 2017
SA RM Bournville Cup
Sun Sep 24, 2017 - Sun Sep 24, 2017
SA 10R State Championships
Sun Oct 01, 2017 - Sun Oct 01, 2017
NSW 10R GP Rd 5 Ben Lexcen Trophy
Sat Oct 07, 2017 - Sat Oct 07, 2017
VIC RC Laser State Championship
Sat Oct 07, 2017 - Sat Oct 07, 2017
WA Ray Tilbrook 10R Memorial Trophy
Sat Oct 07, 2017 - Sat Oct 07, 2017
TAS IOM Tasmanian Regatta
Sun Oct 08, 2017 - Sun Oct 08, 2017
NSW A Class State Titles
Sat Oct 14, 2017 - Sun Oct 15, 2017
QLD Laser State Championships
Sat Oct 14, 2017 - Sun Oct 15, 2017
VIC RM Regional Championship ®
Sun Oct 15, 2017 - Sun Oct 15, 2017

National Champions

A ClassGlenn Dawson

10RScot Condie

RM Lincoln McDowell

IOM Ian Vickers

RC Laser:  Kirwan Robb

Past National Champions

Past National Champions: Click here

Copyright & Disclaimer

The contents of this site, unless otherwise noted, are the copyright © of ARYA and material may not be copied, reproduced, republished, downloaded, posted, broadcast or transmitted in any way except for personal, non commercial use.  Any other use requires the prior written permission of ARYA and acknowledgement of the source.  All trademarks referred to are the property of their respective owners.

Copyright & Disclaimer