Results - Queensland Results
05 July 2016

QLD EC12 Championship - 3rd July


Having sailed at Carbrook on the previous day, it was fairly obvious to me that, with a big fat high pressure looming large, if Saturday was quiet then Sunday was going to be even quieter, and so it proved to be.

A glorious winters day, temperature in the high teens and low 20’s…but not a lot of wind.

What breeze there was, came out of the south west with the odd swing to the north, and later even a bit of a south easterly, but by around 2:00pm it had all but disappeared.

PRO Ian Ashe did his level best to provide a course and, by and large he was successful, but you have to work with what you are given.

Thank you to the Skippers who attended and to the BRYC and LCMM members who helped run the show, and to David Black for scoring and Ian Ashe for acting as PRO

Thank you also to Paul Newman for the photographs. Unfortunately, Paul could not stay for the whole day, and we didn’t get a shot of the place getters but I’ll list out the names from left to right in the group shot and you’ll see who was who in the zoo.

Peter Morris, Gary Taylor, Yeoman Sands, Ian Smith, Dale Smith, Harley Jackman, Grant Lihou.

Competition between Peter and Gary was always close, and it was either of these two who filled first and second place in all but 1 of the 13 races we managed to get in.

Placings for the 3rd, 4th and 5th were close with just 1 point giving Grant 3rd over Harley, and Yeoman not that far away.

6th and 7th … ..well,  you can see for yourself.. Just one of those days when nothing seemed to go right for either of us.

A couple more knots of breeze would have been nice, as these boats revel in the light airs and look so nice on the water, but as I said, you have to work with what you have.

Congratulations to Peter, Gary and Grant.

Ian Smith

Secretary BRYC


Latest Rankings

Updated 19 Sep - 10R

(Hint: Ctrl+F5 to refresh)

A Class
Ten Rater

Upcoming Events

SA RM State Championships
Sat Sep 23, 2017 - Sat Sep 23, 2017
Sun Sep 24, 2017 - Sun Sep 24, 2017
SA RM Bournville Cup
Sun Sep 24, 2017 - Sun Sep 24, 2017
SA 10R State Championships
Sun Oct 01, 2017 - Sun Oct 01, 2017
NSW 10R GP Rd 5 Ben Lexcen Trophy
Sat Oct 07, 2017 - Sat Oct 07, 2017
VIC RC Laser State Championship
Sat Oct 07, 2017 - Sat Oct 07, 2017
WA Ray Tilbrook 10R Memorial Trophy
Sat Oct 07, 2017 - Sat Oct 07, 2017
TAS IOM Tasmanian Regatta
Sun Oct 08, 2017 - Sun Oct 08, 2017
NSW A Class State Titles
Sat Oct 14, 2017 - Sun Oct 15, 2017
QLD Laser State Championships
Sat Oct 14, 2017 - Sun Oct 15, 2017
VIC RM Regional Championship ®
Sun Oct 15, 2017 - Sun Oct 15, 2017

National Champions

A ClassGlenn Dawson

10RScot Condie

RM Lincoln McDowell

IOM Ian Vickers

RC Laser:  Kirwan Robb

Past National Champions

Past National Champions: Click here

Copyright & Disclaimer

The contents of this site, unless otherwise noted, are the copyright © of ARYA and material may not be copied, reproduced, republished, downloaded, posted, broadcast or transmitted in any way except for personal, non commercial use.  Any other use requires the prior written permission of ARYA and acknowledgement of the source.  All trademarks referred to are the property of their respective owners.

Copyright & Disclaimer