07 April 2017

South Australian 2017 IOM State Championships


1st and 2nd April 2017 Hosted by Adelaide Radio Control Yacht Racing Club on behalf of the SARYA.

Twenty Four skippers entered for the event which was sailed in two fleets at Hart’s Mill in Port Adelaide. Fourteen of the skippers travelled from interstate and their effort in making the journey is appreciated. The top end of the fleet included many who were placed high in the finishing order of the recent Australian Championships which were held in NSW last February.

Saturday started with measuring all boats with their No. 2 rig and Certificate verification; this process went smoothly. The briefing was held and the first seeding races commenced as scheduled. Brett Osborne was the PRO for the mornings racing. Rob Cameron took over as PRO until Greg Peek finished work to complete the days sailing.

Good breezes and a mild day with a little shower of rain to make us appreciate the improved conditions for the afternoon. The breeze strengthened with most skippers opting to change down to their measured rig (No. 2). Slight changes to the course were made to compensate for the change in wind direction.

Sunday started with variable challenging wind in both speed and direction which delayed racing until shortly after the lunch break; no rain and a warm sunny day. Brett Osborne was back as PRO for the day. The wind was moderate with some changing to their No. 2 rigs before reverting back to the full sized rigs.

The first place for each race was shared around with three first places being won by three skippers. The remaining first places of the 14 races were shared around. The remainder of the skippers experienced the spoils of larger than usual fleet size racing and all can only be better for the experience.

All racing was conducted in a cordial manner which was appreciated by all.

Thanks go to the Adelaide Radio Control Yacht Racing Club for conducting the event and on behalf of the South Australians and the various PRO’s and assistants. A special thank you to Anne Walker and Phillip Levi for administering the start and finish line and recording of the finishing places and to Graham Ingerson for assisting and organising the lunches. Also a big thank you to all the Interstate visitors for making the event an enjoyable one.


SA Events Calendar

2016 SA Calendar - PDF

Latest Rankings

Updated 15 Jun - 10r

(Hint: Ctrl+F5 to refresh)

A Class
Ten Rater

Upcoming Events

Sth QLD RG65/Dragon Force Open
Sat Jul 22, 2017 - Sat Jul 22, 2017
NSW Marblehead GP Rd 2
Sun Jul 23, 2017 - Sun Jul 23, 2017
WA IOM Perth Classic
Sun Jul 23, 2017 - Sun Jul 23, 2017
NSW EC12 State Titles
Sat Jul 29, 2017 - Sun Jul 30, 2017
Sth QLD RC Laser
Sat Jul 29, 2017 - Sat Jul 29, 2017
VIC State IOM Championship ®
Sat Jul 29, 2017 - Sun Jul 30, 2017
Eddie Cowell Perpetual
Fri Aug 04, 2017 - Sun Aug 06, 2017
Sth QLD 10R
Sat Aug 12, 2017 - Sat Aug 12, 2017
WA A Class State Championships
Sun Aug 20, 2017 - Sun Aug 20, 2017
NSW 10R GP Round 4
Sat Aug 26, 2017 - Sat Aug 26, 2017
Sat Aug 26, 2017 - Sun Aug 27, 2017
TAS A Champs & Herb Tyson Memorial Trophy
Sat Aug 26, 2017 - Sun Aug 27, 2017
Newport Classic
Sat Sep 02, 2017 - Sat Sep 02, 2017
Sat Sep 09, 2017 - Sat Sep 09, 2017
WA Michael Bell 10R Memorial Tropy
Sat Sep 09, 2017 - Sat Sep 09, 2017

Event Websites

Banner5 WebCrop



National Champions

A ClassGlenn Dawson

10RScot Condie

RM Lincoln McDowell

IOM Ian Vickers

RC Laser:  Kirwan Robb

Past National Champions

Past National Champions: Click here

Copyright & Disclaimer

The contents of this site, unless otherwise noted, are the copyright © of ARYA and material may not be copied, reproduced, republished, downloaded, posted, broadcast or transmitted in any way except for personal, non commercial use.  Any other use requires the prior written permission of ARYA and acknowledgement of the source.  All trademarks referred to are the property of their respective owners.

Copyright & Disclaimer