10 October 2017

WA 2017 Ray Tilbrook Memorial Regatta - 7th October 2017



Perth Radio Sailing Club hold the Ray Tilbrook Memorial regatta annually, remembering Ray who was one of our long time members. Always a gentleman, always a terrific competitor and someone the club misses greatly.

This year, the event was moved from Jackadder lake as the water level and weed made sailing Ten Raters problematic. We moved over to Maylands Yacht Club, and were rewarded with some terrific sailing conditions.

Saturday 7 October was an overcast cool day, with a few rain showers passing by. The breeze started out fairly light from the south or south-east. It dropped away in the last morning, but built gradually as the afternoon progressed. Everyone had A rigs on until the last 4 races, when a rig change to B rigs was needed.

This year, unfortunately, a number of our regulars were either away on holiday or unavailable for various reasons. A small, but quality fleet of 6 boats met Race Officer Hub Bell, who got racing underway.

There were a few problems with the outboard in the morning, but fortunately, the buoys which had been placed were in the right place for a decent course. At lunchtime, Denton managed to rectify the outboard, which was lucky, as the course needed to be shifted after the break.

Early in the day, Glenn Dawson took off to win the first 5 races and it looked as though the regatta was in the bag. However, Roger Paul soon got going, as did Graeme Howie, so Glenn did not have it all his own way. Jeff Green started to find his speed and was also sailing consistently.

Denton Roberts sailed really well, although the score doesn’t really reflect it. Denton had some terrific speed and his boat was moving really well. Simon Ellis struggled a bit, but persevered throughout the day. Consistency as always is the key, and whilst Roger was logging up some heat wins, Glenn was never too far behind. So at the end of the day, Glenn took out the regatta, from Roger and Jeff.

We all thanked Hub for officiating and scoring. The skippers were so well behaved, as everyone took their penalties, even if the only person who saw a contact was the skipper himself.

The State champs are programmed for next weekend, and the day at Maylands was a really good hit out in practice for that event.

Glenn Dawson

RSAWA Secretary.

WA Events Calendar

2016 WA Calendar - PDF

Latest Rankings

Updated 9 Oct - 10R

(Hint: Ctrl+F5 to refresh)

A Class
Ten Rater

Upcoming Events

NSW Marblehead State Titles
Sat Oct 21, 2017 - Sun Oct 22, 2017
QLD Lakeside RM Challenge
Sat Oct 21, 2017 - Sun Oct 22, 2017
NSW Soling State Titles and Interclub Rd 4
Sat Oct 28, 2017 - Sun Oct 29, 2017
QLD IOM State Championships
Sat Oct 28, 2017 - Sun Oct 29, 2017
NSW 10R State Titles (inc Rnd 7 10 GP)
Sat Nov 04, 2017 - Sun Nov 05, 2017
TAS IOM Tasmanian Championship
Sat Nov 04, 2017 - Sun Nov 05, 2017
Ctrl QLD A Class
Sun Nov 05, 2017 - Sun Nov 05, 2017
WA IOM Metro Championships
Sun Nov 05, 2017 - Sun Nov 05, 2017
RC Laser International Champs
Mon Nov 06, 2017 - Sat Nov 11, 2017
WA Laser State Championships
Sat Nov 11, 2017 - Sun Nov 12, 2017
NSW IOM State Titles
Sat Nov 18, 2017 - Sun Nov 19, 2017
Click image for more Info 

National Champions

A ClassGlenn Dawson

10RScot Condie

RM Lincoln McDowell

IOM Ian Vickers

RC Laser:  Kirwan Robb

Past National Champions

Past National Champions: Click here

Copyright & Disclaimer

The contents of this site, unless otherwise noted, are the copyright © of ARYA and material may not be copied, reproduced, republished, downloaded, posted, broadcast or transmitted in any way except for personal, non commercial use.  Any other use requires the prior written permission of ARYA and acknowledgement of the source.  All trademarks referred to are the property of their respective owners.

Copyright & Disclaimer